skip to Main Content


A PSNZ Honours distinction is an internationally recognised award, confirming a level of photographic comeptence demonstrated through a portfolio presentation of a member’s work.

There are three levels of distinctions – Licentiate, Associateship and Fellowship.  Each level requires the photographer to demonstrate an increasing level of photographic competence and artistry.

Working for an honours distinction allows photographers to reach new boundaries as they seek to develop their technical skills, set new standards and discover new levels of creativity.

The awards recognise a standard of photographic achievement and are similar to other distinctions offered by sister organisations for example, The Royal Photographic Society (UK), Australian Photographic Society, Photographic Society of America (PSA) and the Canadian Association for Photographic Art (CAPA).

Both members and non-members can apply for Licentiate honours distinction, however applicants must be members of the Society to apply for an Associateship or Fellowship. We recommend that photographers apply for the LPSNZ first, unless you are a very competent photographer.

When an honours distinction has been achieved, the member is eligible to use the specific award’s letters following their name.  For example, Jack Black LPSNZ (APSNZ, FPSNZ).

Click here to download the “Guidelines – How to apply for PSNZ  Honours”.

To view examples of previous successful sets, click on the links below.

Example of Licentiate Sets

Example of Associate Sets

Example of Fellowship Sets

Back To Top