skip to Main Content

Bledisloe Print Cup

2020 Winning Set - Auckland Photographic Society

A set of four prints. All images must be made in New Zealand.

Rules for this competition can be found here.


In July 1919 the Dunedin Photographic Society initiated a competition for Interclub sets of four monochrome prints.

In 1932, Governor General Lord Bledisloe, Patron of the then Wellington Camera Club, donated a cup for this competition. It was first presented in 1932 to the Auckland Camera Club. In 1953, the Cup was held by the Wellington Camera Club, who on formation of the PSNZ, handed it over to the Society.

Bowron Digital Landscape Trophy

2020 Winning Set - Auckland Photographic Society

A set of four digital landscape images.

Rules for this competition can be found here.


This trophy, donated in 2006 by Christchurch Photographic Society replaces the original trophy which was first awarded in 1981. It is intended to pay homage to the original which took the form of a framed print by F.L. Bowron FPSA, ARPS.

George Chance Landscape Print Cup

2020 Winning Set - Christchurch Photographic Society

A set of four landscape prints.

Rules for this competition can be found here.


George Chance FRPS presented this cup in 1946 and it was used from 1946 to 1964 for the interclub landscape competition between Dunedin, Southland and North Otago Photographic Societies.

The cup was presented by these three clubs to PSNZ in 1966 to be awarded annually to the winner of the set of four landscape prints interclub competition.

Wiltshire Digital Image Cup

2020 Winning set - Wellington Photographic Society

A set of four digital images.

Rules for this competition can be found here.


The Wiltshire Memorial Cup was first donated in 1947 as a memorial to Ernest Edward Wiltshire of the Christchurch Photographic Society for an interclub slide competition between Christchurch, Waikato and Nelson clubs.

It was handed over to PSNZ in 1953 for a national interclub slide competition and is now competed for with four projected images from each club.

Jack Sprosen AV Competition

Trish McAuslan APSNZ, AV-LAPS, EFIAP, AAPS ‘Tourists Come to Inle Lake’ winner of a Gold Medal and the Jack Sprosen Memorial Trophy, winner of the Documentary Category

Silver Medal: Gail Stent APSNZ ‘Water Dance’ winner of the Music, Poetry and Song Category

Silver Medal: Jo Boyd APSNZ ‘Sunday Bike Ride’ winner of the Theme Category

Bronze Medal: Judith Hodgson AV-AAPS, LAPS ‘From 1844 to Evermore’

Bronze Medal: Helen McLeod FPSNZ, SPSA ‘On the Factory Floor’

Merit Certificate: Alistair McAuslan APSNZ, AV-AAPS ‘Oradour’

Merit Certificate: John Hodgson EFIAP/b, AV-AFIAP, FAPS, AV-FAPS ‘Spring Clean’

Jack Sprosen Memorial Trophy for Digital Audio Visual Sequences

2020 Entries for the Jack Sprosen Memorial Trophy Competition for Audio-visuals

Open on Thursday 29th October
Close on Thursday 26th November

Entry Fees (same as last year)

Full PSNZ Member                                           One AV $22              Two AVs $32
Member of a club affiliated to PSNZ             One AV  $27             Two AVs $42

Please note that PSNZ Council approved a change in the length AVs entered in the Documentary Category.
These may now be up to 7 minutes long while  the length of AVs entered in the other categories remains at 5 minutes.

Rules for this competition can be found here.


Jack Fredrick Sprosen FPSNZ HonFPSNZ ARPS, 1933-2005

Jack’s interest in camera clubs started in the 1950’s and continued through every year of his life. He was a photographer who successfully embraced black and white, colour, slides, audio visuals, digital and digital audio visuals. He was always willing to help others.

Jack was a key member of the Photographic Society of New Zealand – he served on Council; was President in 1996-97 and was a member of the Honours board. So important was his contribution to PSNZ that Jack was awarded an Honorary Fellowship in 2001 (PSNZ’s highest honour).

The Sprosen family have donated a trophy in memory of Jack which is the purpose of this competition.

Back To Top