skip to Main Content

The PSNZ Council is governed by a group of volunteer Councillors elected by the membership. The official tenure for the President and Vice President is two years, although the President can do an additional year, but no more than three.  The Immediate Past President has a tenure of one year. All Councillors can stand for re-election each year. The President and Vice President allocate portfolios of responsibility for each Councillor which is based on the Councillors having a particular skill set or expertise to enable the smooth running of the organisation.

Council appoints the positions of Treasurer and Secretary.

The current PSNZ Council members are:

Moira Blincoe LPSNZ

As President, Moira has overall responsibility of guiding the Councillors through the myriad of tasks to ensure the Society delivers the services and benefits to members in each calendar year.  Moira, in conjunction with the Executive Officers developed the five year Strategic Plan and will monitor the tactical outcomes to ensure the Society achieves the identified goals. She is also responsible for the Governance of the Society and Chairs the committee for the Constitution.

Vice President
Karen Lawton

As Vice President Karen fulfills a number of roles, including Vice-Chair of the Finance and Audit committee, Vice Chair of the Constitution committee and Chair of the Bylaws committee.  Based in Auckland Karen is also the Councillor for Partnerships and Sponsors which involves developing and managing the relationships and agreements with the Society’s valued trade partners, as well as developing opportunities for new sponsorships.

David Knightley
David is responsible for all number related activities for every aspect of the Society. He liaises with all Clubs hosting any PSNZ event in establishing budgets and approving the same.  He liaises with the appointed Auditing company and ensures all required financial reporting related to Charitable Organisations is current and complete.

Patrice Nilsen
Patrice is the ‘right hand’ woman of the Council.  She ably assists the President, Vice President and all members of Council with all administrative and reporting activities.  She is often the eyes and ears for Society activities and ensures nothing falls through the cracks when Council activities are running hot.

Ann is the Councillor for the New Zealand International Salon and the FIAP Liaison Officer.  Ann has successfully managed the  PSNZ International Salons in 2017 and 2018.  As the FIAP Liaison Officer Ann represents New Zealand at the various FIAP Congress meetings and the FIAP Photo meetings.  She also liaises with all PSNZ memebrs to ensure their application for FIAP distinctions is completed smoothly and successfully.  Ann oversees the management of New  Zealand’s participation in the Four Nations competition.

Paul Whitham LPSNZ
Upper Hutt
Paul Whitham is the Editor and designer of the PSNZ by-monthly digital magazine, CameraTalk. This includes liaison with all members, Council, Clubs and the sub-editor. He is also the liaison Councillor for the NZ Camera editorial team. He most recently  Chaired the Convention Organising Committee for Hutt2019, the 67th PSNZ National Convention.

Vivianne Baldwin APSNZ
Vivianne is the Councillor for Events which includes the regional and national conventions.

James Gibson APSNZ

James is the Councillor for Membership.  In this capacity James looks after all facets of membership retention, as well as developing initiatives to grow the membership.  In 2019 James developed and launched the PSNZ Workshop Series consisting of a series of six one-off ‘master classes’, exclusively for PSNZ members. James is the Coordinator for the PSNZ Canon Online competition.

Craig McKenzie

Craig is the Councillor for National Competitions.  With a wealth of experience in photographic competitions, Craig provides guidance and assistance to the clubs hosting the Society’s national competitions.  These include the PSNZ Sony National Exhibition, the regional salons, Inter-club competitions, Canon Online and the Jack Sprosen Memorial Trophy.

He is also the liaison councillor for non-PSNZ salons such as the North Shore Salon, Trenna Packer, Nelson Triptych, Laurie Thomas, Creative Focus, New Brighton Photojournalism and the Tauranga AV.

Colin Kropach


Colin has been co-opted to Council to co manage the Event portfolio which includes the national and regional conventions.

He has a wealth of knowledge in project management and was also Chair of the organising committee for the very successful 2017 national convention, Photography on the Edge in Auckland.

Colin is a member of the Auckland Photographic Society.

Back To Top