skip to Main Content

Jack Sprosen Memorial Trophy for Digital Audio Visual Sequences

This competition is open to all members of the Photographic Society of New Zealand and members of affiliated clubs.

The 2019/20 competition will be held in October/November 2019. This year the competition is being organised by the New Brighton Photographic Club.

Entries open on Monday 14th October
Entries close on Saturday 16th November
Judging 30th November

To see the current rules please click here.



Jack Fredrick Sprosen FPSNZ HonFPSNZ ARPS, 1933-2005

Jack’s interest in camera clubs started in the 1950’s and continued through every year of his life. He was a photographer who successfully embraced black and white, colour, slides, audio visuals, digital and digital audio visuals. He was always willing to help others.

Jack was a key member of the Photographic Society of New Zealand – he served on Council; was President in 1996-97 and was a member of the Honours board.

So important was his contribution to PSNZ that Jack was awarded an Honorary Fellowship in 2001 (PSNZ’s highest honour).

The Sprosen family have donated a trophy in memory of Jack which is the purpose of this competition.

The Jack Sprosen Memorial Trophy, 2007

November 2018 Results

Trish McAuslan APSNZ, AV-LAPS, EFIAP, AAPS ‘Tourists Come to Inle Lake’ winner of a Gold Medal and the Jack Sprosen Memorial Trophy, winner of the Documentary Category

Silver Medals:

Gail Stent APSNZ ‘Water Dance’ winner of the Music, Poetry and Song Category

Jo Boyd APSNZ ‘Sunday Bike Ride’  winner of the Theme Category

Bronze Medals:
Helen McLeod FPSNZ, SPSA  ‘On the Factory Floor’
Judith Hodgson AV-AAPS, LAPS  ‘From 1844 to Evermore’


Merit Certificate:
Alistair McAuslan APSNZ, AV-AAPS ‘Oradour’
John Hodgson EFIAP/b, AV-AFIAP, FAPS, AV-FAPS ‘Spring Clean’

Commended :
Newell Grenfell Hon PSNZ, FPSNZ, FNPSNZ ‘For Whose Amusement?’
Newell Grenfell Hon PSNZ, FPSNZ, FNPSNZ ‘Dies Irae – Day of Wrath’
John Hodgson EFIAP/b, AV-AFIAP, FAPS, AV-FAPS ‘Music in Space’
Adele Ashton APSNZ, LRPS ‘Memories’
Judith Hodgson AV-AAPS, LAPS ‘Winging It’
Trish McAuslan APSNZ, EFIAP, AV-LAPS ‘Is Iceland Really Made From Ice?’
Gail Stent APSNZ ‘The Artist’s Eye’


Back To Top